Alerts in Effect


The Grant Monument Association (GMA) was formed within days of Grant’s death to establish and administer a suitable resting place for a figure who was recognized as occupying the highest echelon of great Americans. The GMA did this for years, but following a declining membership and aging leadership that would not allow it to continue, the GMA transferred the site over to the National Park Service (NPS) in 1959. Between the 1960’s and 1990’s, desecration and neglect reached alarming levels at Grant’s Tomb, and the site that had drawn more visitors than the Statue of Liberty through World War I became a national disgrace.
As national attention was called to the plight of Grant’s Tomb, A new Grant Monument Association was established to revive the notion that President Grant’s final resting place was a “sacred trust” that deserved better treatment than it was getting. The GMA remains the primary outlet for citizen support for Grant’s Tomb. Find out how you can join the Grant Monument Association.

The GMA Mission

  • To commemorate and perpetuate the accomplishments of Ulysses S. Grant and Julia Dent Grant and their memory.
  • To undertake educational activities and ceremonies as they pertain to President Grant’s service to his country.
  • To cooperate with public and private parties to insure the repair, maintenance and upgrading of Grant’s Tomb in New York City.
  • To raise funds to accomplish the foregoing purposes.

Officers & Trustees


  • Frank J. Scaturro

Vice Presidents

  • Edward Happle
  • Nicole Telecki Berry


  • Edward S. Hochman


  • Howard R. Rosenthal

Board of Trustees

  • Nicole Telecki Berry*
  • Rev. Dr. Robert G. Carroon
  • John Catsimatidis
  • George Chall
  • Grant C. de MaCarty*
  • Ulysses Grant Dietz
  • Thomas A. DiMascio
  • Kathie McHugh Dito*
  • Victoria England
  • Gerald F. Fisher
  • John Grant Griffiths
  • Edward Happle*
  • Edward S. Hochman*
  • Marie E. Kelsey*
  • Robert E. Lee, IV
  • Clarence D. (Hugh) Long, III
  • John F. Marszalek
  • Lucia McCreery*
  • Diane E. Meives*
  • Col. Jason Musteen
  • Donna Neralich*
  • Gary Newman
  • Jessamine Price
  • Steve Repp
  • Donald Martin Reynolds
  • M. Garland Reynolds*
  • Howard R. Rosenthal*
  • Xavier Sartoris
  • Frank J. Scaturro*
  • Mim Sellgren
  • Brooks D. Simpson
  • Claire Ruestow Telecki*
  • Joan Waugh
  • Ronald C. White
  • Vic Williams*

Honorary Trustees

  • Kenneth L. Burns
  • Ron Chernow
  • Hon. Henry A. Kissinger
  • James M. McPherson
  • Hon. Jerrold Nadler
  • Hon. David H. Petraeus
  • Hon. Colin L. Powell
  • Jan Scruggs

* Executive Committee Members

Become a member

With just a small donation you can be a part of the Grant Monument Association

Sign Up
Back to Top